Skip Navigation
Federal Election Commission, United States of America (logo). Link to FEC Home Page
Federal Election Commission
FEC Search is getting an update. Our new design arrives May 2017.

After that, an archive copy of this website will be available at

Preview our new design at

Show Less



News Releases


For Immediate Release


Bob Biersack

October 18, 2007

George Smaragdis

Michelle Ryan


FEC Issues Notice of Proposed Rulemaking on Candidate Travel, Definition of Leadership PAC

WASHINGTON -- The Federal Election Commission (FEC/Commission) today approved a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (NPRM) to implement section 601 of the Honest Leadership and Open Government Act of 2007 (HLOGA).  HLOGA amends the Federal Election Campaign Act (the Act) to prohibit Senate and Presidential candidates, and their campaigns, from spending campaign funds for travel on non-commercial aircraft, unless they pay the charter rate. House candidates, and their campaigns and Leadership PACs, are prohibited from spending any campaign funds for travel on private, non-commercial aircraft.

The FEC seeks comment from the public on proposals to implement the new travel restrictions in HLOGA. The NPRM also proposes, and seeks comment on, a definition of the term Leadership PAC. 

The NPRM will be published in the Federal Register next week, and a public comment period will follow. The deadline for public comment will be November 13, 2007. The FEC will hold a hearing on November 15, 2007, for those wishing to testify before the Commission. Directions for submitting written comments and requests to testify are provided in the notice. The Commission plans to vote on a final rule before the end of December. The full text of the Notice can be found here.

The Federal Election Commission (FEC) is an independent regulatory agency that administers and enforces federal campaign finance laws. The FEC has jurisdiction over the financing of campaigns for the U.S. House, the U.S. Senate, the Presidency and the Vice Presidency. Established in 1975, the FEC is composed of six Commissioners who are nominated by the President and confirmed by the U.S. Senate.