Skip Navigation
Federal Election Commission, United States of America (logo). Link to FEC Home Page
Federal Election Commission
FEC Search is getting an update. Our new design arrives May 2017.

After that, an archive copy of this website will be available at

Preview our new design at

Show Less



News Releases


For Immediate Release


Bob Biersack

December 4, 2007

George Smaragdis

Michelle Ryan


FEC to Meet on December 6 to Consider Five Advisory Opinion Requests

Washington – The Federal Election Commission (FEC/ the Commission) will meet on Thursday, December 6, 2007, to consider:

  • An Advisory Opinion Request (AOR) from the Independence Party of New York  regarding its qualification as a state party committee;
  • An AOR from Jim Burkee and Jeff Walz regarding the permissibility of jointly raising and spending funds for their campaigns in Wisconsin’s 5th Congressional district;
  • An AOR from Holland & Knight, LLP regarding  its status as a corporation or a partnership for the purpose of administering and financially supporting a political action committee (PAC);
  • An AOR from Aaron Schock, a state representative in Illinois and a candidate in Illinois’ 18th Congressional district, regarding the use of funds remaining in Mr. Schock’s state campaign account; and
  • An AOR from Congressman Jesse Jackson Jr. (IL/2) regarding the donation of federal campaign funds to his wife’s campaign for local political party office.

The draft Advisory Opinions to be considered by the Commission, along with the original requests and any comments, are available here.

The meeting will be held at 10:00 a.m. in the 9th floor hearing room at the Commission’s offices located at 999 E Street N.W. in Washington.

The Federal Election Commission (FEC) is an independent regulatory agency that administers and enforces federal campaign finance laws. The FEC has jurisdiction over the financing of campaigns for the U.S. House, the U.S. Senate, the Presidency and the Vice Presidency. Established in 1975, the FEC is composed of six Commissioners who are nominated by the President and confirmed by the U.S. Senate.

# # #