News Releases, Media Advisories

FEC Seal Linking to FEC.GOV

For Immediate Release
May 1, 2001


Ron Harris
Sharon Snyder
Ian Stirton
Kelly Huff



WASHINGTON – The Federal Election Commission’s Office of Election Administration (OEA) is host this week for the annual meeting of the FEC’s Election Administration Advisory Panel, scheduled Friday and Saturday (May 4-5) at the Wyndham Baltimore Inner Harbor hotel.

The OEA, formerly known as the National Clearinghouse on Election Administration, is an entity of the FEC. The Advisory Panel, established in 1976, is composed of state and local election officials from throughout the nation. The 20 members of the Panel are nominated by the director of the OEA and appointed by the six Commissioners of the FEC and are tasked to advise the OEA and the FEC on methods of allocation of resources that will best serve the needs of election officials.

FEC Chairman Danny L. McDonald, who will officially open the 2-day session on Friday morning, commented, "The fair, effective administration of elections in the United States is critical to the stability, and is the cornerstone, of our democratic republic. Without question, the Advisory Panel’s valuable input will help the FEC’s Office of Election Administration use its resources to better serve state election officials, and, in turn, the voting public at large. The FEC welcomes Advisory Panel members to this annual meeting, and we look forward to participating in the discussion."

The meeting’s agenda includes topics on Friday that include "Contested Elections and Recounts 2000" (9:30 - 11 a.m.); Federal Issues 2000 (11:15 - 12:30); and, in the afternoon, task force reports from the National Association of Secretaries of State, National Association of Counties, National Council of State Legislatures, and The Election Center.

Saturday’s agenda includes a discussion on the FEC and OEA budget and the future role of the OEA, with Chairman McDonald, FEC Vice Chairman David Mason (who serves as chairman of the FEC Finance Committee), and Commissioner Karl Sandstrom (9 - 10 a.m.); and an update by OEA Director Penelope Bonsall on the Voting Systems Standards Program.

Accompanying this release are the list of OEA Advisory Panel members, and the annual meeting’s agenda.

# # #