Skip Navigation
Federal Election Commission, United States of America (logo). Link to FEC Home Page
Federal Election Commission
FEC Search



Washington, DC 20463

2014 Federal Election Commission Policy Statement on Non-Discrimination and Equal Employment Opportunity

As Federal Employees, we are sworn to maintain high moral standards, as well as high standards of ethics and conduct.  This obligation includes complying with all laws concerning equal employment opportunity in the Federal workplace.  The Federal Election Commission (FEC or the Commission) has a long-standing commitment to promote and ensure equal employment opportunity (EEO) for all employees and applicants for employment in every phase of employment regardless of race, color, sex, national origin, religion, age, disability, genetic information, sexual orientation, political affiliation, marital status or parental status.  The Commission endeavors to ensure that all aspects of employment, including hiring, promotions, pay, benefits, assignments, transfers, training, evaluations, awards, discipline, and adverse actions (including separations) are conducted in compliance with Commission policies, EEO laws and regulations.

In addition, the Commissioners are firmly committed to compliance with our nation’s EEO and Civil Rights laws and maintaining a work environment where discrimination, retaliation and harassment (physical or psychological) are not tolerated.  To do otherwise is unacceptable.   Managers and supervisors are continually held accountable for their responsibility to identify and correct discriminatory policies, practices, and behaviors and for taking prompt and appropriate action to ensure that the work environment is free of unlawful discrimination, intimidation, reprisal, and/or harassment.

Furthermore, Commission employees also are accountable for compliance with EEO laws and policies, for ensuring that their actions demonstrate respect for human differences, and for treating all colleagues with dignity, respect, and professionalism.  All employees will be held personally accountable for their conduct and performance, as public servants, and are expected to promptly bring any concerns regarding discrimination, retaliation and/or harassment, in any form, to the attention of management.  The Commission takes all allegations of discrimination, retaliation, and harassment seriously, and managers are expected to consider and respond to any reported concerns promptly and appropriately.  The Commission is committed to creating and maintaining a high-quality work environment for all employees and an agency that delivers programs and services to all people with the utmost fairness, integrity, and equality.  This policy shall be adhered to by all staff and contractors of the Commission. 

Chairman Lee E. Goodman